2018 Small Works on Paper

"Now in its 31th year, Small Works on Paper is a juried visual art exhibition that showcases artwork no larger than 18 x 24 inches by Arkansas artists who are members of the Arkansas Artist Registry. The Arkansas Artist Registry is an online gallery showcasing the artwork of Arkansas artists. Membership to the Arkansas Artist Registry is free and open to all Arkansas artists.

The Small Works on Paper exhibition travels to 10 venues throughout the state in a yearlong show, offering Arkansas artists an extraordinary opportunity to showcase their artwork to patrons all over the state. This year’s entries were juried by James Phillips, an associate professor in the Department of Arts at Howard University in Washington, D.C." - Arkansas Arts Council

Convention Fire, 2017, Pigment print on handmade paper (cotton, daylily, hosta, bamboo, and yucca), 15 1/2 x 21 inches

Convention Fire, 2017, Pigment print on handmade paper (cotton, daylily, hosta, bamboo, and yucca), 15 1/2 x 21 inches

This year a piece titled “Convention Fire” was selected. This work depicts a burnt out version of the derelict convention center at Meadow Creek. Meadow Creek, located in Fox Ar, was an important meeting place for people concerned with the environment and global climate change in the 1980-1990s. This print is part of my most recent series “Traces Remain”. 

This is my second time participating in the small works show. My work “Fire Start” was selected in 2016. It’s an honor to be included in a group show that is so widely viewed around the state

The exhibition will travel around the state to the following venues:

January 4-27 Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, Little Rock 

February 5-23 Harding University, Searcy

March 5-16 Arkansas Tech University, Russellville

April 2-30 Community Creative Center, Fayetteville

May 3-29 University of Arkansas Rich Mountain, Mena 

June 4-July 13 The Arts Center of the Grand Prairie, Stuttgart 

August 2-28 Henderson State University, Arkadelphia

Oct. 2-27 Batesville Area Arts Council (Gallery on Main)

Nov. 2-29 DeltaARTS and Arkansas State University Mid-South, West Memphis

This years artists include

Lloyd L. Litsey, Little Rock

Jason McCann, Maumelle

Glenda L. McCune, Little Rock

Cheryl N. McMickle, Marianna

David McRoberts, Sherwood

Emily Renay Moore, Conway

Michael Preble, Hot Springs

Lynn Reinbolt, Searcy

Charlotte Rierson, Fairfield Bay

Jane Rockwell, North Little Rock

Steven B. Schneider, Fayetteville

Robert R. Simmons, Little Rock

Mitchell Skinner, Grady

Leslie Toler, Little Rock

Neilann Brown Verdell, Sherwood

Elizabeth Weber, Little Rock

Steven Wise, Rogers

Emily Moll Wood, Little Rock

Kathy Bay, Sherwood

Lynn Bell, Little Rock

Maria Botti-Villegas, El Dorado

Lyn Brands, Conway

Michael S. Church, North Little Rock

Brian Cormack, Little Rock

Melissa Cowper-Smith, Morrilton

Kristin DeGeorge, Hot Springs

Rex DeLoney, Little Rock

Terry Lynn Dushan, Fayetteville

Melissa Foster, Conway

Bryan Frazier, Little Rock

B. Jeannie Fry, Cabot

Elissa Gordon, Mountain Home

Diane Harper, Little Rock

Marion A. Hotz, Russellville

J. Kathleen Keefe, Little Rock